Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Tell us about your new arrivals by adding your Mailbox Monday post to the linky at mailboxmonday.wordpress.com.

I received a wonderful gift from my Secret Santa in the True Book Addict’s Exchange. Thanks Terri from Alexia’s Books and Such! I can’t wait to read the books and the candy is delicious.

Mailbox Monday – 12/19Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
Series: The Great Library #1
Published by NAL on April 5, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 374
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon
Add on Goodreads

In an exhilarating new series, "New York Times" bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family. Jess has been sent to be his family s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe knowledge is more valuable than any human life and soon both heretics and books will burn.

For the Love: Fighting for Grace in a World of Impossible Standards by Jen Hatmaker
Published by Thomas Nelson on February 25, 2016
Genres: Christian Life
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover
Buy on Amazon
Add on Goodreads

The popular writer, blogger, and television personality reveals with humor and style how Jesus' extravagant grace is the key to dealing with life's biggest challenge: people.

The majority of our joys, struggles, thrills, and heartbreaks relate to people, beginning first with ourselves and then the people we came from, married, birthed, live by, live for, go to church with, don't like, don't understand, fear, struggle with, compare ourselves to, and judge. People are the best and worst thing about the human life.

Jen Hatmaker knows this all too well, and so she reveals how to practice kindness, grace, truthfulness, vision, and love to ourselves and those around us. By doing this, "For the Love "leads our generation to reimagine Jesus' grace as a way of life, and it does it in a funny yet profound manner that Christian readers will love. Along the way, Hatmaker shows readers how to reclaim their prophetic voices and become Good News again to a hurting, polarized world.

Ebooks

I received one from NetGalley.

Mailbox Monday – 12/19Winemaker Detective Mysteries: An Omnibus by Jean-Pierre Alaux, Noël Balen
Published by Le French Book (NY) on December 5, 2015
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 309
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Add on Goodreads

A perfect blend of mystery and gastronomy

The first three books in the Winemaker Detective Series serve up a whirlwind of money, deceit, inheritance, greed, and fine wine, ideal for fans of Iron Chef & Murder, She Wrote. In this addictive series, master winemaker Benjamin Cooker and his sidekick Virgile solve mysteries in vineyards across French wine country.

In Treachery in Bordeaux, barrels at a prestigious wine estate have been contaminated. Is it negligence or sabotage? The two wine connoisseurs investigate in this light-hearted, page-turning read.

In Grand Cru Heist, the two amateur detectives meet a motley crew of characters near Tours a stunning blonde, a zealous concierge, and touchy local police and must solve two murders along the way.

In Nightmare in Burgundy, a dream wine tasting trip turns into a troubling nightmare when Cooker and Virgile stumble upon a mystery revolving around messages from another era. What dark secrets from the deep past are haunting the Clos de Vougeot? Does blood need to be shed to sharpen people's memory?

Brimming with description, intrigue, and compelling characters, the Omnibus offers a rare chance to sample the first three books in this terrific series for less than a bottle of your favorite wine.

I purchased this Christmassy read for my Kindle. I couldn’t resist at 99¢.

Mailbox Monday – 12/19Cozy Christmas Shorts by Gemma Halliday, Leslie Langtry, Kelly Rey, Jennifer L. Hart, Gin Jones, T. Sue VerSteeg, Traci Andrighetti, Anna Snow, Jennifer Fischetto, Janel Gradowski
Series: Tahoe Tessie #1.5, Bombay Assassins #8, Amelia Grace #2.5, , Franki Amato #2.5, Southern Pasta Shop #1.5, Working Stiff Mysteries #2.5, Culinary Competition #2.5, Helen Binney Mysteries #3.5, Jamie Winters #1.5, Gianna Mancini Mysteries #1.5
Published by Gemma Halliday Publishing on September 15, 2016
Genres: Anthology, Cozy Mystery, Christmas
Pages: 544
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon
Add on Goodreads

11 holiday themed cozy mystery short stories by New York Times, USA Today, and National Bestselling authors! Short holiday bites perfect for enjoying while waiting in holiday lines or binge-reading over a cup of hot cocoa.
**The authors are donating a portion of proceeds from this collection to Toys for Tots!**

This LIMITED TIME collection includes the holiday short stories from some of our most popular series:

Baby It's Cold Outside (Tahoe Tessie Mysteries) by Gemma Halliday & T. Sue VerSteeg

Have Yourself a Deadly Little Christmas (Greatest Hits Mysteries) by Leslie Langtry

Sleighed at Castle Rock (Amelia Grace Rock 'n' Roll Mysteries) by Anne Marie Stoddard

The Blonde Before Christmas (Barb Jackson Mysteries) by Anna Snow

Rosolio Red (Franki Amato Mysteries) by Traci Andrighetti

Christmas Al Dente (Southern Pasta Shop Mysteries) by Jennifer L. Hart

Ornamental Danger (Working Stiff Mysteries) by Kerri Nelson

Christmas Canapés & Sabotage (Culinary Competition Mysteries) by Janel Gradowski

A (Gingerbread) Diorama of Death (Helen Binney Mysteries) by Gin Jones

Motion for Mistletoe (Jamie Winters Mysteries) by Kelly Rey

Christmas, Spies & Dead Guys (Gianna Mancini Mysteries) by Jennifer Fischetto

Audiobook

I used an Audible credit for another Christmas mystery.

Mailbox Monday – 12/19Rest You Merry by Charlotte MacLeod
Narrator: John McLain
Series: Peter Shandy #1
Published by Audible Studios on November 6, 2012
Genres: Mystery, Christmas
Length: 7 hrs 42 mins
Format: Audiobook
Buy on Amazon
Add on Goodreads

For years, Professor Peter Shandy has been badgered by Jemima Ames, Assistant Librarian and Annual Chairperson, to decorate his campus home for the Grand Illumination which is Balaclava Agricultural College's main fund-raising event. Now he can hold out no longer.

Goaded to madness, he buries his small brick house under an avalanche of plastic reindeer, flashing lights, and fake Santa Clauses. Hooks up an amplifier blaring "All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth," locks the switches at "on", and escapes to sea on a tramp steamer.

Shipwrecked and conscience-stricken, he crawls back to face his irate colleagues, and finds Jemima Ames dead on his living room floor. Police and security guards say it's an accident; Shandy says it's murder. President Thorkjeld Svenson says he'd better find out the truth without wrecking the Illumination... or the next corpse will be Shandy's.