Foul Play by Helena MarchmontFoul Play by Helena Marchmont
Series: Bunburry #15
Published by Lübbe Audio on February 17, 2023
Source: Purchased
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Length: 2 hrs 57 mins
Pages: 117
Format: Audiobook
Purchase at Amazon or Audible
Add on Goodreads

In the picturesque Cotswolds village of Bunburry, Alfie McAlister’s personal life is in turmoil. He’s finally admitted to himself that he’s fallen for Constable Emma Hollis. But while one moment, Emma was kissing him, now she’s ignoring him. And to make matters worse, with grumpy Sergeant Wilson still on sick leave, Emma is now working alongside the young, handsome, personable Sergeant Angel. Alfie’s relieved to have the distraction of exploring the private library of a Victorian mansion, along with his friend Marge and Gwendolyn, Bunburry’s Goth librarian. But the library contains a century-old secret linked to the writer Oscar Wilde. And the discovery of this secret results in murder. The only thing to do is call the police - and Alfie finds himself confronted by Emma and Sergeant Angel ...

Foul Play is a fun addition to the Bunburry series. The story revolves around a lost play by none other than Oscar Wilde, and of course an ensuing murder. Marge is the executrix of her friend’s estate so several of our friends, including Alfie, head off to the mansion. We get a good introduction to all the characters before the murder occurs so we have several suspects. The secret hidden in the library is definitely worth killing for.

The plot was intriguing and the characters are well drawn. I especially loved the Oscar Wilde fans who descend on the town. I do wish Alfie’s love life would get straightened out or let go by the wayside. These stories are short enough, I don’t need the mystery given less attention so that we can see more of how bad Alfie is at communicating with women he’s attracted to.

About Helena Marchmont

Olga Wojtas

Helena Marchmont is a pseudonym of Olga Wojtas, who was born and brought up in Edinburgh. She was encouraged to write by an inspirational English teacher, Iona M. Cameron. Olga won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award in 2015, has had more than 30 short stories published in magazines and anthologies and writes the Miss Blaine’s Prefect mysteries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.