Murder at Blackburn Hall by Sara RosettMurder at Blackburn Hall by Sara Rosett
Narrator: Elizabeth Klett
Series: High Society Lady Detective #2
Published by the author on February 15, 2019
Source: Purchased
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Length: 7 hrs 55 mins
Pages: 282
Format: Audiobook
Purchase at or Purchase at Amazon
Add on Goodreads

September, 1923. Despite closing her first case, high society lady detective Olive Belgrave hasn't found a new client. She's taken a job as a hat model to pay for her poky boarding house room. But then a job offer comes her way--make discreet inquiries about a famous author who's disappeared.

Olive travels to the English countryside to hunt for the missing mystery author. But soon after she arrives in the sleepy village, a body is discovered. Then a second murder focuses the police's attention on Olive, and she must clear her name before the murderer pens a plot that frames her.

Olive Belgrave is forced to take a job as a hat model to pay her bills, despite closing her first case and trying to make it as a detective. But before she can start her new job a publisher offers her a new position. He wants her to go to the English countryside and make inquiries about his bestselling author, who has disappeared.

Olive travels to Blackburn Hall under the guise of a publishing house agent who is looking into a manuscript about etiquette. But soon after she arrives someone is murder, and in short order a second person dies. Olive must get to the bottom of things because the police suspect she’s a killer, although why I’m not sure. She really has little connection to any one in the town. Hadsworth is full of suspects though, and plenty of secrets. Rosett does a good job at providing historical details.

Full of interesting characters and a tightly woven mystery, I once again enjoyed following Olive’s adventure. She is a good detective and is not afraid to push her way into things to find the solution. I also appreciate the historical details.

About Sara Rosett

A native Texan, USA Today bestselling author Sara Rosett grew up reading and dreaming of writing books. Her stories and essays have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Military Wife’s Soul, Georgia Magazine, The Writer, and Romantic Times Book Review.

She is the author of the High Society Lady Detective series, the Murder on Location series, the On the Run series, and the Ellie Avery series. Sara also teaches an online course, How to Outline A Cozy Mystery.

Publishers Weekly called Sara’s books, “satisfying,” “well-executed,” and “sparkling.” Sara is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and NINC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.