Like a Sister by Kellye GarrettLike a Sister by Kellye Garrett
Published by Mulholland Books on March 8, 2022
Source: NetGalley
Genres: Mystery, Contemporary Mystery
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Purchase at Bookshop.org or Audible
Add on Goodreads
four-stars

A twisty, voice-driven thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Jessica Knoll, in which no one bats an eye when a Black reality TV star is found dead in the Bronx—except her estranged half-sister, whose refusal to believe the official story leads her on a dangerous search for the truth.

When the body of disgraced reality TV star Desiree Pierce is found on a playground in the Bronx the morning after her 25th birthday party, the police and the media are quick to declare her death an overdose. It’s a tragedy, certainly, but not a crime.

But Desiree’s half-sister Lena Scott knows that can’t be the case. A graduate student at Columbia, Lena has spent the past decade forging her own path far from the spotlight, but some facts about Desiree just couldn’t have changed since their childhood. And Desiree would never travel above 125th Street. So why is no one listening to her?

Despite the bitter truth that the two haven’t spoken in two years, torn apart by Desiree’s partying and by their father, Mel, a wealthy and influential hip-hop mogul, Lena becomes determined to find justice for her sister, even if it means untangling her family’s darkest secrets—or ending up dead herself

Lena Scott’s half-sister, former reality tv star Desiree Pierce, is dead. At first glance, it looks like an accidental overdose, but Lena is not convinced. You have to root for Lena. The book is told from her first-person point of view and she’s smart, tenacious, funny, and sassy. The other characters are well-done too, from Desiree’s best friend to Mel, the hip-hop producer father. And they each of secrets they’re not telling Lena. There’s a lot about Desiree’s life that Lena doesn’t understand and she doesn’t know who she can trust.

It’s a very contemporary mystery. A lot of the clues are on Desiree’s phone, contacts, messages, photos, her Instagram account. It had twists and turns and I was nowhere close to guessing the killer. It all made sense in the end though. The story kept me riveted to the page. I was invited into a world that I don’t usually visit even in books, with rappers and “influencers” and $400 bottles of water.

About Kellye Garrett

Kellye Garrett is the Anthony, Agatha, Lefty and Independent Publisher “IPPY” award-winning author of the Detective by Day series and the #ownvoices suspense novel Like A Sister from Mulholland Books. Her work has been featured on the TODAY show as a Best Summer Read and on several Best of the Year lists. Prior to writing novels, Kellye spent eight years working in Hollywood, including a stint writing for Cold Case. In addition to serving on the Board of Directors for Sisters in Crime and Pitch Wars, she is a cofounder Crime Writers of Color.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.