A Taste of Murder by Helen MarchmontA Taste of Murder by Helena Marchmont
Narrator: Nathaniel Parker
Series: Bunburry #3
Published by Lübbe Audio on April 17, 2019
Source: Purchased
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Novella
Length: 2 hrs 42 mins
Pages: 96
Format: Audiobook
Purchase at Bookshop.org or Purchase at Amazon
Add on Goodreads

In "A Taste of Murder," the third Bunburry book, a local beef farmer is found dead and Betty Thorndike, vegetarian and Bunburry's only Green Party member, is in the frame. Despite what everyone thinks, Betty is absolutely not Alfie McAlister's girlfriend. But Alfie knows what it's like to be wrongly accused, and enlists the help of his fellow amateur detectives, Liz and Marge, to find out who's responsible. There's just one problem about a farm-based investigation - Alfie's scared of cows ...

“A Taste of Murder” is the third in the Bunburry series. I guess it could stand alone, but I’d suggest reading the first two. They’re short anyway, around 100 pages, so it’s not a huge commitment, and that way you’ll be introduced to the town and Alfie and have more background going on this one.

Alfie is settling into village life. He has friends and a favorite restaurant, even though his friend, Oscar, is still trying to lure him back to London with food and Oscar Wilde quotes.

And of course we have another murder in quiet little Bunburry. Just after Alfie’s friend, Betty, learns that a local farmer is no longer treating his cows humanely, the farmer ends up dead. The incompetent and mean sheriff of course jumps to the conclusion that the killer must have been Betty and Alfie’s ready to jump to her defense.

I always wish the Bunburry books were a little longer. I really like the characters and the charming town. We have a few suspects and a couple of clues, and I actually thought the whodunit was fitting.

I do enjoy short audio mysteries. They’re a nice break.

About Helena Marchmont

Olga Wojtas

Helena Marchmont is a pseudonym of Olga Wojtas, who was born and brought up in Edinburgh. She was encouraged to write by an inspirational English teacher, Iona M. Cameron. Olga won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award in 2015, has had more than 30 short stories published in magazines and anthologies and writes the Miss Blaine’s Prefect mysteries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.