Sweet Revenge by Helena MarchmontSweet Revenge by Helena Marchmont
Narrator: Nathaniel Parker
Series: Bunburry #7
Published by Lübbe Audio on November 27, 2020
Source: Purchased
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Length: 3 hrs 6 mins
Pages: 113
Format: Audiobook
Purchase at Bookshop.org or Purchase at Amazon
Add on Goodreads

Miss Marple meets Oscar Wilde in this new series of cosy mysteries set in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Bunburry.

In "Sweet Revenge", the seventh Bunburry book, Alfie is back in London, trying to pick up his old life there. But even a wild social whirl with his best friend Oscar can't disguise the fact that he misses Bunburry. And then a cry for help reaches him - Liz and Marge are in trouble, and Alfie races back. But as he and Police Constable Emma Hollis join forces to clear the ladies' names, he has to confront a growing suspicion. Has Liz made a mistake while making her celebrated fudge, or have the ladies been up to something more sinister?

I enjoy these Bunburry novellas. This time I listened to three back-to-back. I’ve been listening to the series in order. There’s no reason not to, each is so short, and they do build on each other rather well.

Alfie returns to London, which is good, but it’s because Liz and Marge need his help.is in London and miserable after the disastrous movie wrap party in book 6 and called back to Bunburry to help Liz and Marge. Their famous Bunburry fudge is part of a police investigation. The guests of a society wedding became ill during the reception and of course the fudge was part of the spread. Liz and Marge risk losing the fudge business if Alfie and Emma can’t clear their name.

This is such a cozy mystery – no one even dies in this one, although it’s close. The characters are fun and quirky and caring. The clues are presented without being overly obvious. It’s just a light, enjoyable read (listen).

About Helena Marchmont

Olga Wojtas

Helena Marchmont is a pseudonym of Olga Wojtas, who was born and brought up in Edinburgh. She was encouraged to write by an inspirational English teacher, Iona M. Cameron. Olga won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award in 2015, has had more than 30 short stories published in magazines and anthologies and writes the Miss Blaine’s Prefect mysteries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.