Sinners and Saints by Helena MarchmontSinners and Saints by Helena Marchmont
Narrator: Nathaniel Parker
Series: Bunburry #10
Published by Lübbe Audio on August 13, 2021
Source: Purchased
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Length: 3 hrs 29 mins
Pages: 111
Format: Audiobook
Purchase at or Purchase at Amazon
Add on Goodreads

Miss Marple meets Oscar Wilde in this new series of cosy mysteries set in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Bunburry.

Harold Wilson, police sergeant in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Bunburry, loathes Alfie McAlister. Alfie is handsome, popular, a self-made multimillionaire - and worst of all, he and his friends Liz and Marge are much better than the police at catching villains. But Sergeant Wilson loathes one person even more - Bunburry's vicar, Philip Brown - and is thrilled by the chance of locking him up for a local crime. When Reverend Brown refuses to defend himself or produce an alibi, it's up to the Bunburry Triangle to uncover what's going on.

Sinners and Saints was a fun addition to the series. And do read them in order. They are short and you get to know the colorful cast better that way. Here we get to know a bit more about the vicar, Philip, who has been a good friend to Alfie, but has a pretty big secret. This time around the crime is a theft and vandalism, and while Philip is a suspect, Alfie and the crew can’t quite believe it. I don’t understand why Harold Wilson is still a police sergeant, he’s worse than incompetent. Yes, cozies often need bumbling police, but Wilson is a little over the edge.

Thankfully, this series relies more on characters than plot. I was disappointed that the culprit didn’t show up at all until the very end. He walks into the scene, admits he did it, and Emma takes care of the situation. Sorry for the spoiler, but you knew the vicar didn’t do it. It is really best to have at least met the offender before the denouement.

About Helena Marchmont

Olga Wojtas

Helena Marchmont is a pseudonym of Olga Wojtas, who was born and brought up in Edinburgh. She was encouraged to write by an inspirational English teacher, Iona M. Cameron. Olga won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award in 2015, has had more than 30 short stories published in magazines and anthologies and writes the Miss Blaine’s Prefect mysteries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.